Anxiety and my journey with it

I often think about where I’d be had I not been diagnosed with anxiety….

Let’s start with my first ever helicopter scenic flight! I was over helping relative with house renovations (they live between Gulgong and Dunedoo in the central west of New South Wales, Australia) – I realised the local field days at Mudgee, a 45 minute drive away, were on at the end of the week…. we arrived at the field days site and had an opportunity to look around before we had a chance to have lunch. I remember watching the helicopters taking off – I think my aunty was watching me look as I ate…. she came up and asked if I wanted to go up in one. I said, “Why not?” – went over and found out how much they were and I realised I was A$10 short. Went back and loaned the extra money off another aunty then went back – my uncle came back this time. I paid and signed in – the policy of the helicopter operator was a minimum of 2 passengers per flight. I didn’t have to wait long before another person arrived – the funny thing was this person was also from Dubbo (where I am from). We went up and did our flight – I can still remember the first four words I said when we landed and alighted from the helicopter: “That was bloody awesome!”…. adrenaline coursing through my body. This first flight was in a Bell JetRanger – I loved it so much I still do them to this day… these days, I am a passenger in a Robinson R44 Raven II piston helicopter.

Robinson R44 Raven II VH-RIZ. This helicopter is the helicopter that keeps me in the air!
Robinson R44 Raven II VH-RIZ. This helicopter is the helicopter that keeps me in the air!

Then my first visit to Coffs Harbour just over 3 years ago – that’s definitely one thing I cannot stop thinking about…. this was my first time in the water with a dolphin and it was a dream come true not once but twice over. When we had our pre-encounter brief, we were told which dolphin we were working with – as soon as I heard that we were working with Bella, I stood there shocked…. it was Bella who I dreamt of doing this with!

Bella and me - hugging
Bella and me – hugging

I still cannot believe I got to do this – I’ll never forget it!

December 2014 – V8 Supercars Sydney NRMA 500: see this post for more: 2014 Sydney NRMA 500 – with thanks to Falken Tyres Australia

May 2015 – and my birthday/trip to Coffs Harbour: see this post for more: Coffs Harbour 2015 and a birthday I will never forget

3 thoughts on “Anxiety and my journey with it

  1. Pascale LeBrasseur August 19, 2015 / 10:45 am

    Looks like you have done lots of really fun things. I’ve never been on a helicopter ride.

    • Joe Hupp August 19, 2015 / 11:15 am

      In all fairness, had I not been diagnosed with anxiety 2 months prior, I would not have done it…. I was on Zoloft at the time and that helped a bit. They are fun – I’m in awe of how a helicopter can get off the ground!

Leave a Reply

